

# Current Trends in Synthetic Organic Chemistry 13<sup>th</sup> January, 2015

## **REGISTRATION FORM**

Name of the Participant (s):
Academic Qualification:
Designation:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax No. :
E-mail:
Signature & Date:
Signature & Date of Competent Authority of the

**Institute (for students only)** 

**Registration Details:** 

Amount

## LIST OF SPEAKERS

1. Dr. B. C. Ranu (IACS, Kolkata)

2. Dr. Subrata Ghosh (IACS, Kolkata)

3. Dr. Dipanjan Pan (UIUC, USA)

4. Dr G. Kar (Presidency University, Kolkata)

5. Dr. Chinmay Chowdhury (IICB, Kolkata)

6. Dr. Swadhin Mandal (IISER, Kolkata)

7. Dr. Alakanada Hajra (Visva Bharati University)

8. Dr. Rajarshi Samanta (IIT, Kharagpur)

#### **OBJECTIVES**

The conference will be a unique platform for the delegates to have opportunity to share the latest developments in contemporary areas of organic synthesis and related disciplines such as Total synthesis of natural products, Green chemistry, Metal mediated transformations.

#### PLACE AND CLIMATE

Kharagpur is about 120 km south-west of Kolkata and is well connected by rail and road with important metros like Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Bangalore and Kolkata and also with other important cities in India. The distance from Kolkata International airport to Kharagpur is about 130 km and takes about 2 hours by car.

The climate at Kharagpur during mid January is very pleasant. Temperature varies from 14-27°C.

## **REGISTRATION FEES**

Persons attending from Academia /Research Institutes: Rs 500

All payments should be made in favor of "CEP-STC, IIT Kharagpur" payable at Kharagpur. DD/Cheque along with the filled-in registration form should be sent to the Convene. Spot registration is possible.

#### **ORGANIZING COMMITTEE**

Patron: Prof. P. P. Chakrabarti, Director, IIT Kharagpur Chairperson: Prof T. Pathak, HOD-Chemistry, IIT Kharagpur Convenor: Dr Samik Nanda, Dept. of Chemistry, IIT Kharagpur

**Co-Convenors:** Dr. N. D. Pradeep. Singh, Dr. M. S. Maji, Dept. of Chemistry, IIT Kharagpur

**Local Organizing Committee:** Faculty members of the Department of Chemistry, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur

#### **ABOUT THE DEPARTMENT**

Sir J.C. Ghosh, the first director of the institute started the chemistry department in 1952. Ever since the inception, the department has established the tradition of excellence in teaching and research in various corridors of chemistry. The multifaceted research activities and state-of-the-art facilities, the department offers one of the best academic environments in the country.

The prime focus on the research activities is on basic and traditional areas of chemistry, relevant to the societal needs. The major research encompass interdisciplinary areas such as organic, biophysical, bioinorganic, bioorganic, computational, material, nanomaterial, organometallic, polymer, solid-state, and theoretical chemistry. The department presently has 31 faculty members.



CONTACT ADDRESSES Convenor, Department of Chemistry IIT-Kharagpur, Kharagpur-721302, India | e-mail: hod@chem.iitkgp.ernet.in snanda@chem.iitkgp.ernet.in