Advances in Functional Materials (AFM – 2019)

December 7, 2019

Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur West Bengal – 721302, India



Venue: Gargi Auditorium, Vikramshila Complex, IIT Kharagpur



Organized by
Department of Chemistry
Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur



AFM - 2019

Conference commemorates the 65th Birth Anniversary of Prof. Suneel Kumar Srivastava and Prof. Ahindra Nag. It will be a unique platform that will showcase research advances in functional materials through seven invited lectures from diverse fields. It will offer researchers an opportunity to meet and interact with inspiring speakers and experts from multidisciplinary areas of materials research.

ORGANIZING COMMITTEE:

Patron: Director, IIT Kharagpur Chairperson: Prof. M. Bhattacharjee,

HoD, Chemistry, IIT Kharagpur

Conveners:: Prof. Amita (Pathak) Mahanty

Prof. Dibakar Dhara

Organizing Secretary: Prof. Sabyashachi Mishra

Prof. G.Venkataraman

LOCAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE:

Prof. Anoop Ayyappan Prof. Sukanta Mandal Prof. Samik Nanda Prof. S. Bandyopadhyay Prof. Amit Basak Prof. Santanu Panda Prof. Tanmaya Pathak Prof. Kumar Biradha Prof. P. K. Chakraborty Prof. Sanjib K. Patra Prof. P. K. Chattarai Prof. C. Retna Raj Prof. Madhab C. Das Prof. A. Rajakumar Prof. Swagata Dasgupta Prof. Debashis Ray Prof. Joykrishna Dev Prof. Rajarshi Samanta Prof. Suman K. Samanta Prof. Kiran R. Gore Prof. Mintu Halder Prof. Nilmoni Sarkar Prof. Partha P. Jana Prof. N. D. P. Singh Prof. Ganesan Mani Prof. Srabani Taraphder Prof. Modhu S. Maji

Treasurer: Mr. Bishwajit Chatterjee

LIST OF INVITED SPEAKERS:

Prof. Annie K. Powell: Institute of Inorganic Chemistry, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

Prof. Birgit Weber: Department of Chemistry, University of Bayreuth, Germany

Prof. Durga Basak: School of Physical Sciences, IACS, Kolkata, India

Prof. Debabrata Pradhan: Materials Science Centre, I.I.T. Kharagpur, India

Prof. Narayan Chandra Das: Rubber Technology Centre, I.I.T. Kharagpur, India

Dr. Tapas Kuila: Surface Engineering & Tribology Group, CSIR-CMERI Durgapur, India

Dr. Satyajit Samantarai: Department of Chemistry, Gandhi Institute for Education & Technology, Bhubaneswar, India

CONTACT:

Prof. Amita (Pathak) Mahanty / Prof. Dibakar Dhara Department of Chemistry, I.I.T. Kharagpur, West Bengal – 721302, India

E-mail: ami@chem.iitkgp.ac.in dibakar@chem.iitkgp.ac.in



New Chemistry Building. I. I. T. Kharagpur

Advances in Functional Materials (AFM – 2019) December 7, 2019

Venue: Gargi Auditorium, Vikramshila Complex, I.I.T Kharagpur Program Schedule

8.55 – 9.10	REGISTRATION
9.15 – 9.25	INAUGURATION
LECTURE SESSION – I; CHAIR: PROF. SWAGATA DASGUPTA	
9.30 – 9.55	Lecture 1: Do 3d - 4f Coordination Clusters Enhance Molecular-Based Magnetic Properties? Prof.Annie K. Powell, Institute of Inorganic Chemistry, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
10.00 – 10.25	Lecture 2: Molecular Sensors at the Nanoscale – Switchable Luminescence and Synthesis of Nano-Composites Prof. Birgit Weber, Department of Chemistry, University of Bayreuth, Germany
10.30 – 10.55	Lecture 3: Design of Materials to Enhance Photocatalytic Activity Prof. Debabrata Pradhan, Materials Science Centre, I.I.T. Kharagpur, India
11.00 – 11.15	TEA BREAK
LECTURE SESSION – II; CHAIR: PROF. TANMAYA PATHAK	
11.20 – 11.45	Lecture 4: Nanostructured ZnO-based Materials for Optoelectronic and Photocatalytic Applications Prof. Durga Basak, School of Physical Sciences, Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Kolkata, India
11.50 – 12.15	Lecture 5: Small Angle Scattering (SAS) Studies on Soft and Functional Materials Prof. Narayan Chandra Das, Rubber Technology Centre, I.I.T. Kharagpur, India
12.20 – 12.45	Lecture 6: Graphene-Based Materials for Supercapacitor Energy Storage Application Dr. Tapas Kuila, Surface Engineering & Tribology Group, CSIR-Central Mechanical Engineering Research Institute, Durgapur, India
12.50 – 13.15	Lecture 7: Cardanol Functionalized Nitrile Rubbers: A Sustainable Approach Towards Achieving Biocompatibility and Antibacterial Property Dr. Satyajit Samantarai, Department of Chemistry, Gandhi Institute for Education & Technology, Bhubaneswar, India
13.20 – 14.55	LUNCH BREAK
15.00 – 16.00	FELICITATION CEREMONY OF: PROF. S. K. SRIVASTAVA & PROF. A. NAG
16.10 – 16.20	VOTE OF THANKS